From Brooklyn to Bridgeport. URSA curates museum quality exhibitions that inspire and spotlight our current times in arts and culture. 




11 November 2021-

5 March 2022


The Coral Reef Principle

Ursa Gallery is pleased to present SHIM Eco: The Coral Reef Principle, a seminal show of over one hundred works to focus on eco-activism and its transformational sensibility. It is the inaugural exhibition of SHIM Eco, the world’s first art community to concentrate solely on climate change and its economic and social disruptions. The participating artists hail from nearly a dozen countries—including Finland, Argentina, France, Italy, Greece, Africa, England, and the US—and present works in digital and analog formats to spotlight in myriad ways the urgent issues around sustainability and social engagement.

The exhibition is titled after the coral reef, a complimentary biosphere and the largest undesigned structure in the world. Crucially in this model there is no master architect, nor the need for one, because the structure literally builds and maintains itself once all the correct conditions exist. It is this concept, or “principle,” that the exhibition mirrors. At URSA, the actual installation of the art will also mimic the ways a coral reef operates by connecting larger works on walls with other smaller artworks that engage with the space of the floor, ceilings, and other in-between areas, and these works in turn will connect remotely via videos to other artists around the world. Featured artists include Ken Butler, whose hybrid musical instruments of repurposed and humble materials inspire transformation; Kathleen Vance, who sets miniature bucolic landscapes inside vintage suitcases, conjuring the sublime from the avant-garde; and German Pitre, who employs controversial symbols through recycled materials to challenge our perspectives.  

SHIM ECO exists as an online exhibitor group of the SHIM Art Network Artsy site page to allow artists to sell their sustainable eco-based artworks directly to collectors without the need of a gallery affiliation. Now, with this event at URSA, Eco will begin to exhibit their group member artists in analog galleries and art fairs around the world. Eco was formed to include not only visual artists but also writers, designers, poets, and creators of all types interested in developing a sustainable way to make and promote their works.

100 artists


 | Argentina | Brazil | Belarus | France | Finland | Greece | Italy | Poland | Romania | 

 | Switzerland | Togo | United Kingdom | United States of America |  

List of organizers and participating object based artists


Executive Curator

Peter P. Hopkins


Associate Curator

Sarah Olson (U.S.)


Curatorial Team

Alexandra Mas (France)  |   Marco Tassini (Italy)  |  Hannah Hardenbergh (U.S)

Courtney King (U.K.)  |   Christina Kyriakidou (Greece)




Gaïa Adduccio

Irene Andreou

Leslie Ayers

Polly Bennett

Katarina Boselli

Alison Brewster

Michele Brody

Ken Butler

Barry Carlsen

Delphine du Carufel

Shelby Charlesworth

Allison Ebbets

Ellen Hackl Fagan

François Fasnibay

Sika Foyer

Bernard Garo

Brandon Graving

Nicolas Hamm

Keran James

Justin Kelly

Zerek Kemph

Alan King

Courtney King

Jill Krutick

Christina Kyriakidou

Simone Kurtz

Daniel Lanzilotta

Andy Li

Stephen Mallon

Anna Marchlewska

Alexandra Mas

Christina Massey

Michelle McAuliffe

Heidi Norton

Sarah Olson

Gopesa Paquette

Cristian Pietrapiana

German Pitre

Debora Rayel

Rhiannon Rees

Barent Roth

Elizabeth Saveri

Jennifer Sirey

Christy Speakman

Katherine Spindler

Victoria Tasch

Marco Tassini

Anssi Taulu

Charzette Torrence

Tyrome Tripoli

Kathleen Vance

Jane Claire Wilson

Estelle Woolley

Etty Yaniv

Jack and Jenna X

Current list of video artists participating in the Ursa exhibition

and online at the SHIM Eco/TSDAP Eco YouTube channel.


Irene Andreou

Katarina Boselli & Bernard Garo 

Alison Brewster

Claudia Chaseling

Sika Foyer

Charlotte Greenwood

Mariella Hall

Łukasz Horbów

Halima Husain

Rachel Jutkova

Zerek Kempf

Tim Kirman

Christina Kyriakidou

Erato Kyriakidou

Eva Joy Lawrence

Antony Lucchesi

Anna Marchlewska

Alexandra Mas & Marco Tassini 

Marble Bee Alorque Mendoza 

Leah Moodie

Shadia Nilforoush

Sari Nordman

Svetlana Ochkovskaya

Luke Seward

Fatima Shehmous

Sarah Smart

Kandi Spindler

Ioulitta Triantafyllou 

Kelsey Tynik